Halloween

28 Oct

In 2008, my friends decided to dress up as the Peter Pan crew, including Hook, Pan, Wendy, and other characters. Despite some reservations about political correctness, I ultimately decided to be Tiger Lily. I made a Native American costume with some ribbon, trim, and brown fabric from JoAnn’s. The materials cost about $25.00 or so, and it took about an hour to put together. I also had some paint lying around so I decided to play around and paint the red flower with my bellybutton as the center [note: I used acrylic just to experiment around with it and learned that this is not the best paint to use on skin. It dries and cracks pretty easily and will begin to flake off early in the night]. The headdress was also really easy to make with some rhinestones, feathers ribbon and a hot glue gun [all from JoAnn’s included in the $25.00 except the glue gun.]

Halloween of 2010, I was a fairy. This costume involved a little more expense. I got the hot pink tutu online for about $20, but it was a bit plain so I used my bedazzler to add rhinestones and studs to it. I also used fabric glue to glue on rhinestones, and sewed black bows onto it. I attached some fake flowers I bought at Wal-Mart at the hip area of the tutu. The corset is from Frederick’s of Hollywood. Their corsets can be pricey, but this one was a steal –  I got it on sale for $25.99. The wings were reused from Halloween another year; I probably got them at a costume store for $15.00 or so. I glued small, pink rhinestones on my face with eyelash glue [rhinestones were $1.00 at Target].

Leave a Reply

